Reading 2: Chapters 8 & 9 Fonts

Standard

What fonts do you personally prefer to use?  Visible or invisible typography? Romans or San serifs?  When creating your book cover do you want to have a symmetrical, asymmetrical or contrasting approach to using typography?  Back up your answers with reasons supported from the text.  In your answer through your blog post play with the typography.

The fonts I personally prefer to use depend on the context of the topic I am using the font for.  Most of the time, I use Times New Roman, especially for work or school assignments.  It is a classic, professional, but not too serious font.  Generally, I prefer to use Roman-inspired fonts, that have an extra flair to each letter with their artistic serifs and flowy appeal.

Depending on what type and genre of book I decide to recreate the cover of, I can see the fonts being either Gothic-inspired, or a more playful type, like Comic Sans.  Gothic script, according to the text, is over 500 years old but is still popularly used in tattoos, fashion, newspapers and other media.  Comic Sans has a bad reputation for being too immature, spaced out, rounded and uneven, but it definitely has a cute, elementary appeal, and is a stark contrast of scripts like Gothic.

Also depending on the book I choose, I most likely will choose a symmetric approach to my typography: centered and balanced.  I do not like the asymmetric approach in which words, thoughts, and art are scattered with no real flow to it.  That is, unless I choose a story that is scary, complex, or suspenseful, in which that type of typography would illustrate the story well.  The contrast approach can be combined with either asymmetry or symmetry, and is interesting in that it demands attention or directs your eyes with various colors, boldness, and font variety.

Most likely, I will use invisible typography and be more creative with the other illustrative aspects of the book cover, unless the title and author themselves are crucial to the story’s meaning.  In that case, I would use visible typography so that the reader knows exactly what to expect by looking at the title.

Because of the limitations put on the adjusting of font in a blog post, there are a lot of limitations on playing with the typography in my response, other than altering colors, boldness and size 😦 

Leave a Reply

